Holy Update, Batman!

Wow, it’s been awhile and I’ve been not lazy, but busy.  Quentin has grown so much and he just amazes me every day with what he’s learning, so I figured that I better write some stuff down!

First of all, I should update his stats for posterity… At Quentin’s 12 month check-up he weighed 18 lbs 14 oz (4%), he was 28.75 inches tall (17%), and had an 18.5 inch head circumference (67%).

At his 18 month check-up he weighed 21 lbs 14.5 oz (6%), he was 31.5 inches tall (26%), and his head is still huge at 19.5 inches (90%). I’m hoping that his head will slow down so he isn’t doomed to be the leader (from the Hulk comics).

Stats aside, Quentin is doing really well.  He’s so chill.  He’s laid back and go with the flow mostly.  He started walking at about 13 months old taking his steps on June 26, 2012.  He was off from there.

In the past few months the big developments have been around more walking and moving things, like driving his car and 4-wheeler (all manual and moved by feet) and learning to play his xylophone and Charlie’s harmonica, as well as talking. He has all of his teeth, with the exception of his 2-year molars.

He has so many words that he’s working on saying.  Not all of them are perfectly clear, but he can say so much now.  I will try to list them below, but I’ll probably miss some.

Words: Mama, Dada, Kitty, Dog, Ollie, Elliot, Nya, Grandma (he mostly says MMMMama, instead of Mama), Papa, Nana, hat, fan, cheese, ball, block, turtle, grilled cheese, thank you, hi, bye, tiger, juice, booboo, butter (meaning butterfly), up, on, owl, fox, baby, apple, hulk, cookie, boat

He also signs “more”, “please”, and “food.”

When either Charlie and I are gone Quentin asks for the missing parent and he will send kisses through the phone to us, including on videos that we send each other of Quentin.

Today I got frustrated because I wasn’t feeling great and Quentin came over to me and tried to make me feel better, which he was easily able to do.  He showed caring and empathy to me.  He’s growing up okay!

He loves to watch hockey (and the zamboni that cleans the ice), “riding” on motorcycles (especially the actual ride-on one that Papa and Grandma got him for Christmas), tigers, dancing, reading, Mama’s coin belt (for dancing), and Elmo. He also loves his new Kitty, Brandybuck (known as Bucky) that we rescued a few month ago!

His current favorite books are Soft Shapes My Fire Truck (it has pull out pieces and he loves to carry around the dog), the Gossie and Friends board books (it’s a set of 5), Little Quack Counts, and his animal books.

He and Oliver are starting to really get along.  They missed each other over Christmas break and have been having fun playing together these past few days. Speaking of Christmas, Quentin had a great Christmas.  He got so many new toys to play with including puzzles, a marble (over-sized) track, helmets, lots of blocks, musical instruments,and quite a few books.  His favorite toys he received were a giant plush tiger from Santa, a motorcycle from Grandma and Papa, his marble track from Mr. Nick and Miss Julie, and his train set from Nana.

I’m sure there is so much more to mention, but I can’t think of it all, especially since I’ve been lazy with this blog. Hopefully I’ll continue to update slightly more regularly.

Image

Our family at Christmas

Image

Exploring the snow!

Image

Quentin loves his Tiger!

Image

My little lover boy!

~ by littleredcera on January 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
